14/05/2012 – Monday – Quick Song Fail

I tried to write a song in under an hour today. It went not at all well. After an hour and fifteen minutes I had a bunch of lyrics and a more or less coherent chord pattern, but it was all soggy and heavy and nasty and I couldn’t remember if there was any melody to any of it. The idea was to film it and show you the process, but it was waaay too stressful. I started off messing around in D major, then after twenty minutes gave up and started again in A flat major (what was I thinking!?). I suppose you could call what I wrote a song, but it’s faaaar from finished. I think I will try again next week, but for now I need to relax.

So, I had a broadly positive response to my new song at the weekend. Thanks once again to everyone who shared it on their walls and stuff. It really means a lot because without you and your support I’m just talking to myself. So enjoy your free mp3s. Someone told me they were going to use theirs as a ringtone. That made me happy. Here’s the video once again in case you missed it.

My GeorgeTown vlog also seems to be meeting with some approval – that is to say no-one has asked me to stop for the good of humankind yet. I edited a new video today, and will be uploading it… tonight most likely. Then there’s the new Tring Sessions video to look forward to tomorrow afternoon. 5pm I think. If you like bluebells, you’re in for a treat.

Tags: , , ,

About Imogen Records

I am a professional musician based in Bournemouth.

Leave a comment